Village News

Christmas Lights

121122 | Camborne Music Festival results

From West Briton Thursday November 22 2012

Camborne Music Festival results

Thursday, November 22, 2012

West Briton

Brass: The Mr and Mrs Williams Challenge Cup, presented to the most promising brass player: Andy Wingham.

Recorder: The Lydia Holmes Cup and monetary voucher presented by the Cornwall Society of Recorder Players for the most promising competitor under 18 years of age: Samuel Constable.

Woodwind: The Aldous Family Challenge Cup, awarded to the most promising competitor under 18: Sarah Carbis.

Guitar: The Mr and Mrs P Johns Challenge Cup awarded to the most promising competitor under 18: Aiden Moran.

String: The Mrs Nettle Cup, awarded to the most promising under-18 competitor: Ciaran Trevena.

Piano: The Agnes Jane Memorial Trophy for the most promising under-18 competitor: Lily Irvin.

Vocal: Winifred Wing Salver for the most promising vocalist under 18: Kerenza Hurr.

Junior class awards The Kenneth Pelmear Plaque, awarded to the competitor under 10 years with the highest mark: Killy Edgell; The Peter Johns New Achievers award, presented to competitor aged 16 and under: Phoebe Hutchinson; The Doris Clemens Memorial Trophy for young pianists under 16 years, awarded jointly to Lily Irvin, Kerenza Hurr, Lily Casey and Killy Edgell; The Ruth Brown Memorial Challenge Trophy, presented to the school or youth choir with the highest marks: Truro Preparatory School Chamber Choir; the most promising young musician of the festival trophy and £100 awarded by the Rotary Club of Camborne: Karenza Hurr; The Rotary Young Musician Award: Ciaran Trevena.

Other final awards: The Parker Challenge Cup, awarded to the competitor with the highest marks in the brass section: Karen Hurr; The Norman Johns Cup, awarded for the highest marks in the florid and slow melody brass classes: John Hitchens; The Vocal Championship Class: Christine Cumber; Best Male Singer award (Michael Bostow Memorial Award): David Rashleigh; Best Female Singer award (Vivien Pike cup): Christine Cumber.

Choir awards: Adult Ladies' Choir (The Margaret Reynolds Baton): Camborne Ladies' Choir; The Marlene Doe Memorial Cup, awarded to the best single performance in the advanced ladies' choir class: Camborne Ladies' Choir; The Bob and Eileen Gilbert Baton, awarded to the winning Male Voice Choir: Four Lanes Male Choir; The Eric Jeffrey Memorial Rosebowl, awarded to the adult choir with the highest marks: Four Lanes Male Choir; Quality Solicitors Nalders award to the choir obtaining the highest aggregate mark: Four Lanes Male Choir. Award for the Best Single Performance: Sydney Mitchell.